CCW By State
Licensing & Training
Minimum Requirements by State
Know before you sign up!
The legal requirements for a New York City CCW Permit are as follows:
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- You must have a “significant connection” to New York City. Connections may be but are not limited to ownership of property in the five boroughs, operation of a business in New York City and/or frequent documented travel to New York City.
- Complete 16 hours of classroom firearm safety training
- Complete 2 hours of live-fire training
- Pass a written examination
- Pass a background check
- Submitted fingerprints
- Proof of good moral character
- Application payment of $340 plus fingerprinting fees
*NYC does not recognize carry licenses from other counties in New York State.
Non-residents who live throughout the United States are normally eligible for a Special Carry license.
*NYC limits non-residents to one handgun.
The legal requirements for a Utah CCW Permit are as follows:
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- Proof of good moral character.
- Pass a background check
- Have a photocopy of your Driver License.
- A recent color photograph of yourself.
- Non-resident proof of permit (A state CCW permit that is reciprocal of Utah CCW)
- A fingerprint card.
- A Weapon Familiarity Certification.
- Application payment of $87.
*Participant of this course must meet all of the minimum requirements for the application for Utah. Completion of this course and/or submission of the application is no guarantee that the application will be approved. Requirements and application process may be subject to change. Please review the requirements for Utah CCW applications for the most up-to-date information.
The legal requirements for an Arizona CCW Permit are as follows:
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- Pass a background check.
- Not be unlawfully present in the United States.
- Complete a firearms safety program within the guidelines of Arizona Revised Statutes.
- If an applicant is born outside the United States, applicant must send proof of citizenship or alien status.
- Application payment of $60.
*This permit is reciprocal to the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
The legal requirements for a Floridia CCW Permit are as follows:
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- Pass a background check.
- Demonstrate competency with a firearm by completing an approved firearm course.
- Not be a Florida resident.
- Submit a full set of fingerprints.
- Copy of your driver’s license.
- Application payment of $97.
*Florida Non-Resident CCW is honored in 38+ states — more than Utah or Arizona non-resident permits.
*Not honored by: California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota (limited), New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, District of Columbia.
The legal requirements for a New Jersey CCW Permit are as follows:
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- Successfully qualify on a course of fire for the Civilian Carry Assessment and Range Evaluation protocol.
- A PTC Safe Handling and Proficiency Certification.
- A copy of your instructor’s certification showing they are a certified instructior.
- A recent photograph
- Contact information for four (4) non-family references. You must know these references for more than three years.
- Information on all handguns to be carried.
- Application payment of $226
- Consent for a mental health form
*New Jersey Non-Resident CCW is honored in the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia
The legal requirements for a California CCW Permit are as follows:
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- Be a resident of the United States.
- Attest under oath to spend time in Ventura County within the subsequent twelve (12) months
- Be a member and provide proof of membership from the following organizations: The California Rifle & Pistol Association, Gun Owners of America, Gun Owners of California, or The Second Amendment Foundation.
- Currently own a firearm that can be legally carried in California.
- Provide fingerprints.
- Pass a background check.
- Pay the application fee of $220.
*California Non-Resident CCW is honored in the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin.
The legal requirements for a California CCW Permit are as follows:
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- Provide proof of comptency by means of the following:
- Completing any hunter education or safety course approved by the Department of Wildlife Resources or similar agency of another state.
- Completing a handgun shooting class or course that teaches efficient, effective, and responsible use of a concealed handgun for self-defense outside the home; state laws pertaining to handguns; and proper handgun storage techniques.
- Completing any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by a law-enforcement agency, institution of higher education, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school. Instructors for these courses must be certified by the National Rifle Association, the United States Concealed Carry Association, or the Department of Criminal Justice Services.
- Completing any law-enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement.
- Provide proof of equivalent experience with a firearm. This can be done with participation in organized shooting competition, current military service or proof of an honorable discharge.
- Completing any in-person firearms training or safety course conducted by a state certified, NRA certified or USA Concealed Carry Association certified firearms instructor.
- Fingerprints obtained by a law enforcement agency.
- Photograph with the following:
- 2×2 inches in width and height.
- Taken within the past 6 months.
- Full face with plain white background.
- Not in any uniform.
- Original of the photograph, NOT a photocopy.
- Proof of ID, such as a Driver’s License.
- Application fee of $100.
*Virigina Non-Resident CCW is honored in the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, District of Columbia, Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, and U.S. Virgin Islands.
Contact us and we are ready to help you! We may be able to assist you with a permit from another state that is accepted in the state you are looking for.
*A criminal background check will be conducted for all applicants by the agencies processing the applications.
*Participant of these courses must meet all of the minimum requirements for the application for the state of interest. Completion of this course and/or submission of the application is no guarantee that the application will be approved. Requirements and application process may be subject to change.
CCW Common questions
A Constitutional Carry State, also called a Permitless Carry or Unrestricted Carry State, generally allows a person who may legally possess a handgun to carry it concealed without obtaining a concealed carry permit (CCW). Private businesses may still prohibit firearms on their property. Constitutional carry states include Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming. North Dakota and Wyoming limit constitutional carry to their own residents, meaning nonresidents must have a qualifying concealed carry permit from their home state.
Because constitutional carry laws, concealed carry reciprocity, and permit requirements may change, firearm owners should review current state and local regulations before carrying a handgun.
A shall-issue state must grant a concealed carry permit, or CCW permit, to applicants who meet objective requirements such as age, background checks, and any required firearms training. Unlike may-issue states, officials generally cannot deny a qualified applicant based on personal discretion. Requirements vary by state and may change.
A may-issue state gives licensing authorities discretion when approving a concealed carry permit or CCW permit, even when an applicant meets basic eligibility requirements. However, the U.S. Supreme Court’s 2022 decision in NYSRPA v. Bruen ruled that states cannot require applicants to show “proper cause” or a special need to carry a concealed firearm, significantly limiting discretionary may-issue concealed carry laws.
A small number of jurisdictions continue to impose significant barriers to permit issuance following the Bruen decision and ongoing litigation. This landscape continues to evolve — always check current state law before traveling.










